NCPLDA Awards, 2006-2007 Winners

Presented at the NCPLDA Banquet, November 29, 2007, Greensboro, NC

Personal Awards
Program Awards



Library Friend of the Year: Penny Mills

Considered annually, the Library Friend of the Year is an individual who has in a significant manner contributed to the value and welfare of her local library, and by doing so, has increased the quality of service provided to all patrons of the library.


Library Champion: Representative Russell Tucker, Duplin and Onslow Counties

The Library Champion Award is given on an irregular basis to one or more non-librarian(s), particularly state legislators and other state officials, who proactively support a legislation which benefits public libraries in North Carolina.


Benefactor Award: Barbara Carlton

The Benefactor’s Award is given on an irregular basis to an individual or group who has made a significant financial contribution towards the development of public library service.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Richard Wells

Considered annually, this award is given to a North Carolina librarian, past or present, who by creativity, fidelity, leadership and professionalism, has increased the quality for library service to all patrons in their community. This award encompasses the contributions of an individual(s) over an entire career or lifetime.


Library Trustee of the Year: Morris Kaplan

Considered annually, the Library Trustee of the Year is given to a trustee, past or present, who has significantly benefitted his/her library by the strength of his/her service. This trustee has provided leadership, creativity, and inspiration while serving on the board and has contributed in a significant manner to the accomplishment of the library’s mission.


Library Director of the Year: Bob Fisher, Robeson County Public Library

Considered annually, this award is given to a current library director who has contributed to the growth and development of their library by providing leadership, inspiration and creativity to staff, patrons, and trustees. By his or her abilities, the public library under his or her direction has succeeded in providing excellent service to their library and/or the library community.



Outstanding Children's Program

Small: Polk County Library

Medium: Neuse Regional Library

Large: Cumberland County Public Library & Information Center


Outstanding Young Adult Program

Small: Transylvania County Library

Large: Henderson County Public Library


Outstanding Adult Program

Small: Albemarle Regional Library

Medium: East Albemarle Regional Library

Large: Buncombe County Public Libraries


Outstanding Public Relations Program

Medium: Randolph County Library

Large: Cumberland County Public Library & Information Center


Outstanding Service Innovation

Medium: Caldwell County Public Library

Large: Forsyth County Public Library


Outstanding Staff Development Program

Medium: Randolph County Library


Outstanding Newsletter

Medium: Onslow County Public Library

Large: High Point Public Library


Facility Awards

Granite Falls Branch, Caldwell County Public Library

W.C. Witherspoon Memorial Library, East Albemarle Regional Library

Kernersville Branch Library, Forsyth County Public Library

Macon County Public Library, Fontana Regional Library

H. Leslie Perry Memorial Library, Vance County